From the 1st May 2016 the National NHS Education for Scotland Cochrane Provision will include access to Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Clinical Answers covers 32 Clinical Specialties and provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from the Cochrane Review. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. The target audience for Cochrane Clinical Answers is healthcare practitioners and professionals, and other informed health care decision-makers. Cochrane Clinical Answers have been developed by Cochrane Innovations Ltd. and Wiley Online Library.
Access: via Wiley Online Library or via http://cochraneclinicalanswers.com/
You can download a navigational PowerPoint about how to use Cochrane Clinical Answers by clicking on this link. An electronic user guide is also included. If you would like additional guides in print please contact Rachel Wilkinson – email firstname.lastname@example.org
If you are interested in a webinar covering the features of CCA then please email Tony Aburrow – at email@example.com.
For support and access queries please contact the Wiley Customer Care Team – email : firstname.lastname@example.org
Wiley Online Library will be undergoing scheduled downtime, for maintenance, with direct impact on Cochrane Library users on 19th March starting at 11.00 am, UK time.
The downtime is expected to last for around 3 hours (11:00 to 14:00).
Users of the Cochrane Library site may experience performance deterioration, with intermittent access issues for opening the search results and browse functionality.
A user may have one of three possible journeys during this maintenance period:
- A correctly resolved page return
- A maintenance message
- A failed to load message
The maintenance is needed for various Wiley Online Library aspects of a Access & Licence Management project.
OvidToday is an easy-to-use app, available for iPad® and Android™ devices. The app offers instant access to browse through our Ovid-subscribed journals.
- Browse Ovid® Journal Holdings – search by journal name, A-Z or by category to find journals that best fit any specialty area
- Intuitive Interface and Navigation – makes reading journal articles a simple experience
- Personal Reading List – you can create a list of journals to follow, even offline, that is most relevant to your research, practice and education
- Stay Up-To-Date – the latest content from our subscribed journals is instantly available on the app once on Ovid – including Publish Ahead of Print
- Read Articles Anywhere – Access up to 6 months-worth of rolling content and PDF articles while on-the-go – on campus or at home with remote authentication
Watch the OvidToday Brainshark webinar online to find of more about OvidToday, then download the app here:
Medical Library Team
The 2015 Embase® global database reload on Ovid® was completed on Monday, March 9, 2015. See below for complete details on the reload.
The reload incorporates 937 new terms that have been added to Emtree as preferred terms for 2015. This includes 140 replacement terms (19 drug terms and 121 medical terms). Of these terms, 125 are new (generic names for drug chemical names) and 15 are replacements.
- No drug terms will be replaced by a medical term, and no medical terms will be replaced by a drug term
- No preferred terms will be deleted
Additional MEDLINE®-Unique Records
Elsevier has added further MEDLINE®-unique records to Embase and Embase Classic. This includes up to 25,000 records from 1974-2011 and up to 120,000 records from 1967-1973. These records will not be part of AutoAlerts. To view them, you will need to enter the following into your search to retrieve them –
- 201592.up for records from 1974-2011
- 201593.up for records from 1967-1973
As a reminder, Embase reloads twice annually. If you have any questions, please contact Ovid Customer Support at email@example.com.
The Medical Library Team
Scopus has announced the addition of the new metric Impact per Publication (IPP) to its portfolio of journal metrics. IPP measures the ratio of citations per article published and provides you with an additional metric for comparing and evaluating journals. Access the IPP metric from the “Compare journals” tool and elsewhere in Scopus.
For more detailed information about IPP and other Scopus journal metrics, visit www.journalmetrics.com. You can also learn more about Scopus, including the latest developments, by reading the Scopus blog.
Go to the Scopus Compare journals page to see how you can use the Impact per Publication metric to better evaluate journals.
Would you like some help with finding information, writing a bibliography or using our library?
Whether you are stuck, and don’t know where to start your search for your next assignment, would like advice on referencing your essay, or maybe need help with setting up a RefWorks account, we have time for you at the Medical Library Enquiry Desk here on the Foresterhill campus. Navigating online journals and databases can be easy…if you know how! We’re here to help.
We hold drop-in sessions during term-time from Monday – Friday, between 9am – 4.30pm so don’t hesitate to ask our friendly library staff.
The Medical Library Team
Wiley has recently announced the launch of a new enhanced HTML format for systematic reviews in The Cochrane Library. In the new format, you’ll be able to view an article easily on the device of your choice, at your convenience.
What is Anywhere Systematic Review?
Anywhere Systematic Review focuses on improving the reading experience of articles on Wiley Online Library, in four simple ways:
Readability: superfluous information and clutter have been removed so that readers can focus on the article.
Navigation: the new layout and sidebar tray allow readers easy access to important information, such as references, at any point in the reading experience, without losing their place on the page.
Functionality: as well as viewing items such as figures, tables and references in context, readers can use new tools to browse through all these items in one place, and quickly navigate to their context in the article.
Mobility: the responsive HTML article will adapt to any device – desktop, tablet, or mobile – to give the optimal reading experience.
You can view an article in the new ‘Anywhere Article’ format wherever you see this link –
Find out more about the new Anywhere Systematic Review features on the Cochran Library website.
Medical Library Team